3rd Pattern Fairbairn-Sykes

And please enter our 2018 Photo Calendar Competition.... July's entries are >>> here <<<
Please note that from 1st August 2017, free accounts will no longer be able to use the Conversation (PM) system. Please see >>> here <<<for details.
  • Hi ladies and gents newbie here so be nice to me especially if this has been asked before! :rolleyes: 
    I am the very proud owner of a 3rd pattern Fairburne Sykes fighting knife which I'm in the process of sympathetically restoring. So to my question having gently cleaned and polished it I think it was one of the half / half knives. I.E. Bright, polished blade and originally a black handle and guard. The blacking has long since been worn off and I think I'd like to get it redone:-

1. Should I re-black it or leave it alone,
    2. If yes to re-black I think I'd like it done professionally, any suggestions?

Thanks in anticipation of any help in this matter.

Mad Medic

Growing old is compulsory, growing up is optional.........and a much overated concept in my not too humble an opinion!

• Ah ha thanks BKelly, I have looked at there website and was actually thinking about one of their repro's before I was lucky enough to be given an original one! :D

I'll try messaging them WHEN I read the "distructions" and figure out how to do it!

Growing old is compulsory, growing up is optional.........and a much overated concept in my not too humble an opinion!

• mameluke do you know I have my own doubts about re-blacking so I could be convinced yet?

Sympathetic restoration = clean & tidy up, sharpen up and give it a polish and leave it at that?

Any other opinions / votes

Sympathetic restoration?

Full restore?